Embedded Automation Forum  

Go Back   Embedded Automation Forum > mHome Products > mControl > mControl v2 > mControl Vista Media Center
Forums FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

mControl Vista Media Center Information on mControl's Vista Media Center client, written in MCML - Vista Media Center's native language

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2007, 06:28 PM
Ted Singh's Avatar
Ted Singh Ted Singh is offline
Senior Member
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,108
Default Putting mControl on the Vista Media Center Main Menu

We will not provide support on the following customization - this information is only provided for those customers that have:
- a good to excellent understanding of the Windows Registry
- made a backup of key registry settings.

The following procedure will create a topic on the Vista Media Center main menu, like this:


Essentially what this does is creates a "Category", which is Media Center reference to a Main Menu item and then references the two mControl client applications (mControl Vista MC client and mControl MCE2005/HTML client) as part of the new category.


1. Copy the following into a text editor (e.g., Notepad):
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Media Center\Extensibility\Categories\mControl Digital Home]
"AppID"="{aebf238a-a1c5-4354-ba23-e693cb9f219e}"
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Media Center\Extensibility\Categories\mControl Digital Home\{3de6904a-d9c7-4ef9-b77d-c1216b39161e}]
"AppID"="{aebf238a-a1c5-4354-ba23-e693cb9f219e}"
"TimeStamp"=dword:0e0c207f
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Media Center\Extensibility\Categories\mControl Digital Home\{3de6904a-d9c7-4ef9-b77d-c1216b39161f}]
"AppID"="{aebf238a-a1c5-4354-ba23-e693cb9f219f}"
"TimeStamp"=dword:0e0c207f
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Media Center\Start Menu\Applications\{aebf238a-a1c5-4354-ba23-e693cb9f219e}]
"Category"="mControl Digital Home"
"OnStartMenu"="True"
"TimeStamp"=dword:0e0c207f
"Title"="mControl Digital Home"
2. If you'd like to change the Title of the topic, for each reference of "mControl Digital Home", change it to the title of your choice.

3. Save this to a file with a .REG extension (denote registry information).

4. On the .REG file you have just created, double-click or right-click and select "Merge". This will put up a prompt which asks you if you really want to add this to your Windows Registry. (If you're not sure about what you're doing, this is a good time to say "NO".) If you select "YES", the next time you start Vista's Media Center, the topic and the mControl options should be on the Vista Media Center main menu.

Please note, if you decide to remove the items from the main menu, you will have to go into the Windows Registry and manually remove the added information. Additionally, you may have to do this in the HKKEY_CURRENT_USER, which creates a shadow entry the current user.

Ted
--

September 25, 2007: I had forgot about the \Start Menu section and have added it. This was a key missing component.

May 21, 2008: It appears that this forum is putting a space in the word "CurrentVersion" - remove this extra space as it will create bad registry entries.

Last edited by Ted Singh; 05-21-2008 at 08:55 PM. Reason: Put in missing registy points; Got rid of extra line spaces, explained what this does; Made it sticky
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2007, 01:50 AM
Polfliet Polfliet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 46
Default

Ted,

I did exactly this, but nothing was added to the main menu. The items were successfully added to the registry. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2007, 02:15 PM
keifer1 keifer1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 55
Default

Same Here.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2007, 11:20 PM
Ted Singh's Avatar
Ted Singh Ted Singh is offline
Senior Member
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,108
Default

Polfilet, keifer1,

For some reason, the post above has a space in the "CurrentVersion" (though I don't see it when I try to edit and fix it) - you need to remove this space within the text editor.

I just tried it and it works great.

Ted
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2007, 03:29 PM
cforsyth cforsyth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Ted, I've tried this without the space and still don't have the mControl option in my main menu
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2007, 04:44 PM
keifer1 keifer1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 55
Default Same here

Ted, I've tried this without the space and still don't have the mControl option in my main menu - removed bad stuff and applied fixes checked reg and it's all there?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2007, 02:54 PM
Polfliet Polfliet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 46
Default

Ted,

I also caught the space in "CurrentVersion" initially, but it still didn't work. I copied everything you indicated in italics, but changed the 3 instances of "mControl Digital Home" to "Home Control".
Based on the fact this works on your Vista system, could there be a different key or ID# needed on my system?

Thanks.
Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2007, 05:28 PM
Ted Singh's Avatar
Ted Singh Ted Singh is offline
Senior Member
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,108
Default

Hmmmm, strange. Would it be possible for you to send the contents of HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Current Version\Media Center\Extensibility to support at embeddedautomation dot com. Please zip before sending as .reg files don't travel well in email.

Basically though, there are 4 main entries:
1. Within \Application - which defines the application
2. Within \Entry Pointes - which defines the entry points for the application
3. Within \Categories - which defines categorization for the applications.
4. Within \Start Menu - defines the applications within the Start Menu

You may check that the GUIDs match up.

I have now included the 4th item in the orginal post.

Ted

Last edited by Ted Singh; 09-25-2007 at 09:48 PM. Reason: Doh! Forgot an essential registry entry
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-25-2007, 09:09 PM
Polfliet Polfliet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 46
Default

This worked! Thanks Ted!

One issue:
When I select the back button (the left arrow in the upper-left corner of Media Center) before selecting or changing anything from the mControl screen I get the following message: "PROGRAM NOT RESPONDING The mControl MCML program has stopped responding and you will be returned to Windows Media Center." This seems to happen about 1/3 of the time. ???

Thanks.
Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-25-2007, 10:11 PM
keifer1 keifer1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 55
Default Works

Worked for me also, I am going to play with it, would be nice for it to default to mc menu first, mine shows html option first. Might even be better to just put the vista control at top level only without html at all for access at that point and leave html where it is under programs.
Thank You
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.